Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Interaction between bass and drums

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Mikewl, Dec 25, 2004.

1. I've always heard about the interaction between the bassist and drummer in a band. How Scott La faro and Paul Motian "interacted" and "communicated" and "cooperated" more effectively than any other drum/bass combo.
    Admittedly, I'm new to the whole jazz thing, but I don't really understand: assuming all professional rhythm section players can play in time and play lines of similar standard, what makes one rhythm section better than the next? What is the "interaction" that I've always heard about, but never understood? (till now, hopefully) Thanks in advance.

2. Mike, please take a minute to complete your profile. It's much easier to help solve a players problem or to even just answer a question when you know a few things such as age, maybe something about your bass and location....thanks.
    I thinks most jazz bassists and drummers will agree that the first thing you need to address in terms of rhythm section playing, along with the pianist or guitarist or whatever 'chordal voice' you have in the band....if, indeed, you do, is establishing the 'POCKET' or groove or whatever you wanna call that getting together so you're all in it with a similar feel or vibe.Once you get in the pocket, you'll know it and from there is where most of the fun begins....interplay with all the other instruments starts.
    This is overly simplified, but if the drummer and the bassist aren't in the pocket....forget the rest. Nuthin' feels better than that groove and interplay is iceing on the cake!
    The next lesson would be learning how not to trash it out!

3. Marc Piane

Marc Piane

Jun 14, 2004
    Chicago