Is bass hard to learn?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by AvedisdrummerA, Jun 19, 2004.

1. Hey, I'm thinking about taking up bass so before I buy one, I was wondering if bass is hard to learn and get started with? I'm 16 and I've played drums and percussion for about 4 years so I know all the note values and rhythms and I can read pretty well, so it's not like I'm a noob as far as reading music. I'm used to listening to a song and playing along then after a couple times through I can play the beats close to what's supposed to be played on the drums... like I'm able to play close enough to keep playing along with the track without getting lost... is bass going to be anything like that after I learn the basics like notes and stuff? If someone has any answers or insights, please feel free to post. Thanks.
  2. Eyescream

Feb 4, 2004
    Knoxville, TN
    You shouldn't have a terribly difficult time, especially with your history of being able to catch drums and hang onto the track by ear, and being able to sight read.

Go for it.
  3. Thanks for the reply, are there any online sources that I can attempt to start learning even w/o a bass guitar?
  4. grovest

Feb 26, 2002
    Also try for online 'lessons'.

The answer to your questions, are yes and yes. Bass is not that hard to get started on and before long you should do alright with playing basic changes by ear. This will of course vary depending on natural talent and the effort you invest.

And good luck!
  5. .... it has been said that bass is easy to learn, but difficult to master. The sense of groove, taste, tone, and feel don't come easy.

Don't spend another minute wondering if you should try - go for it and good luck.

:) :hyper:
  6. +1