1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is it harmful to learn the treble clef as well?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by sheepshank, Aug 9, 2020.

1. sheepshank

sheepshank

Sep 27, 2013
    Norway
    Hi Basstalkers,

Im a musician thats been struggling to learn reading sheet music for most of my playing life. Started out on guitar and read mostly tabs and some sheet music. Lately I´ve only studied bass and bass clef.

The problem is, I have started practising some etudes i treble clef, and I mix it up so much. I dont notice Im off until things starting to sound awkward and then I realize Im in the wrong key or clef. Some of it actually sounds cool in both clefs tho.

Has anyone experienced the same? Should I stick to one clef or just continue with both, hoping that I get better at reading both clefs?

have a nice day,
    Espen :)

AdeptBerry likes this.
  2. thabassmon

thabassmon

Sep 26, 2013
    New Zealand
    I read both so I don't think it's harmful, but I do think it may be confusing if you are still getting your sight reading together. It'll probably make the whole process of making it fluent take longer.

lamarjones, jmlee and sheepshank like this.
  3. BrotherMister

BrotherMister

Nov 4, 2013
    Scotland
    PVG Membership
    It's absolutely not detrimental to learn treble clef. If anything it opens up a lot more music to you. Interesting enough all the bass clef readers I know such as cellists, bassoonists etc are all great readers in treble (some of us in alto and tenor) as well, but the treble readers all struggle with bass clef.

4. SteveCS

SteveCS

Nov 19, 2014
    Hampshire, UK
    Given that a 24-fret 4-string bass range goes from E on the first ledger line below bass clef to G in the first space above treble clef, I think it is useful to learn both.
    YMMV, IME, etc...

bassb66 and sheepshank like this.