1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Is Wishbass right for me?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Chemical Wings, Apr 4, 2009.

1. Chemical Wings

Chemical Wings

Feb 1, 2009
    I'm 14, but I have lots of experience in electric as well as upright bass playing. I am looking for a very playable, no-frills, good-sounding fretless bass that I can use as kind of a "main" bass at a low price, since money is a huge issue for me. I don't mind having to get it touched up (my double bass teacher has worked with basses for over 50 years and is more than willing to get it set up for me), and I especially need something with a long fingerboard. Would it be a good idea to get a Wishbass? I think so right now, you?

2. fryBASS

fryBASS

Aug 8, 2006
    New Haven, CT
    Just get a cheap regular bass guitar and defret it.

3. Jeff Roller

Jeff Roller Jeff Roller Gold Supporting Member

Dec 24, 2007
    Maryville, TN
    This is no unbiased opinion as I currently own four of them, three fretless and one fretted. For what they give you for the price you pay, they are one of the true "udiscovered" values out there. Of course this will be followed by many posts telling you not to buy one, they are junk, etc. but most of those posts are going to be from people who have never owned one.

I would check out this forum and then make your mind up. If you have someone willing to help you set it up, I would pull the trigger on it if I were you.

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=528368

4. cmewhinney

cmewhinney

Jul 11, 2008
    Concord, NH