Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I've never played a show...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by 0scar, Dec 30, 2004.

1. 0scar

0scar

Jul 11, 2003
    and I feel as if I wouldn't be able to move while playing, like if I did, I'd mess up my playing or something. I'm into a lot of metal, so stage presence does play a vital role here...:( Is this just me being paranoid?

2. 0scar

0scar

Jul 11, 2003
    well...I kinda phrased that wrong. It's more like I can't be as active as I would want to be on stage because I feel that this would either mess up my playing or it'd just be hard to play. Since I've never really played a "show", is this just me having a normal newbie fear of crowd rejection, or do I have a serious problem? lol

3. 0scar

0scar

Jul 11, 2003
    And lastly, I've been playing bass for 5 years now, and I would consider myselfa good bassist, at least for my age group. A lot of people around here were impressed by my playing but I realized that I can only really play well sitting down, I barely stand up to play, and when I do I set my bass fairly high. Does this have anything to do with it?

4. Jeb

Jeb

Jul 22, 2001
    USA
    Sounds like butterflys.

Just play the bass. Don't worry about what you think others expect of you at this point because its too late for that. You just have to play,... so play as well as you can, take your lumps, take your rewards, learn from them, build your memories and experience. It really is as simple as that.