Jazz Double Bass Forum?

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by vjfourfreshmen, Jan 6, 2004.

1. Hi all, I am new to TB and so happy to be here.

I see forums on: basses, orchestral technique, setup and repair, etc.
    How about a forum on Jazz Double Bass? I sure would be visiting that one a lot!!!

I am currently looking for a new bass for jazz. Any thoughts on the best new basses? Anyone selling an already fabulous jazz bass (vintage or new, hybrid or carved)?

I am planning on selling two basses in the near future.
    The first is a 1928 Czech made 7/8 5 string bass. This bass shakes the whole house, especially the low B string!! Excellent response with both arco and pizz. Might not be able to part with it!

The second is a laminated bass that is set up very well.

So happy to be here!!
    Vince Johnson
    Four Freshmen 2000 and beyond www.fourfreshmen.com
  2. Sam Sherry

Sam Sherry Inadvertent Microtonalist Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2001
    Portland, ME
    Euphonic Audio "Player"
    Vince, welcome here! It's a pleasure to have you.

As you've noted, there's not a "jazz forum" per se. So many of us on the DB side play jazz that personally, I feel like jazzitude permeates the site. But if you feel strongly about it . . .

Don't hesitate to speak right up!
  3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I've suggested that we should have a Jazz forum many times over the past 3 -4 years - but the feeling has been very much anti!

People have said that we shouldn't have forums for different genres of music as where would you stop? Bluegrass forum, experimental, avant-garde hip-hop fusions with traditional Palestinian microtonal music? ;)