Jimmy Haslip

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by currentbuzz, Mar 5, 2006.

1. currentbuzz

Mar 4, 2006
    I believe that this is one of the best, however i want to know your ideas about this bassist as im studying his work right now since i dont see his name on these threads i opened up one.
  2. bobe

Dec 26, 2005
    awesome player and really nice guy.

Check out the project I-Ching w/Robben Ford and Vinny C on drums.
  3. jerry

jerry Doesn't know BDO Gold Supporting Member

Dec 13, 1999
    I'm a long time fan! Jimmy has his own voice on fretless, not a easy feat.
  4. currentbuzz

Mar 4, 2006
    are you talkin about Jing Chi? well if you are talkin about it and your a Jazz fan expect not much cause its a blues kind of feel but if you are a fan you must have a copy.

i really dig alot of haslip for the moment his strong melodic accents, and tremendous speed(with grace) really blows me off try to grab a copy of Yellojackets with these albums... Blue Hats, Club Nocturne, Dreamland, Run for your Life, Like a River. those are killers!!
  5. Baryonyx

Baryonyx Banned

Jul 11, 2005
    Marathon Man
    He's an amazing player. Very underrated, but totally mindblowing!
  6. Bassmonk3y

Sep 19, 2005
    Tacoma, Wa
    Jimmy Haslip is the frikken man..He's an expressive unique voice on bass, has tonnes of soul, and best of all, the man plays left- handed bass with right-handed string configuration, in other words his strings are inverted or upside-down when compared to traditional players!:eek: That may sound really kooky, but as a bassist who plays in the same way as him (albeit with just a straight-up right handed bass played lefty.. no custom jobs for me :p), his presence as a respected and renouned bassist is encouraging to say the least!

Long live jimmy haslip and inverted bassists! :cool:
  7. SteveC

Nov 12, 2004
    North Dakota