1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Kay Bass - Nut question and Intro

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by PhxPhil, Jul 30, 2012.

1. PhxPhil

PhxPhil

Jul 30, 2012
    PHX
    Hello, I am new hear as a registered member. Been lurking for years. Just picked up a Kay Bass (1951 I believe) from a close friend. It need to be put back together. Nothing major except it needs the fingerboard mounted and a nut.

It was missing the bridge, but I located one from a friend of a friend (small world here in the Phoenix music scene).

So...question... the nut... I am a pretty good woodworker and can probably make one. Or do you think I would be better purchasing one?

Second question...sorry just thought of it...and probably a laughable one for most of you... are the fingerboards normally glued to the neck?

Thanks for any input. I am trying to decide whether to put this girl back together myself or pay to have someone do it.

Phil

2. WallBass

WallBass

Feb 24, 2011
    I would personally have a professional luthier do it. The nut needs to be the right height, and also the bridge would need to be adjusted to the bass as well. Same with the fingerboard, it might need a planing. And yes, the fingerboards are glued on. Hope this helps!

3. bssist

bssist

Jun 23, 2007
    St. Louis, MO USA
    I am very diy and always encourage others to do their own work when they can. However, I think it would be in your best interest to take your bass in to a reputable shop for the work you need until you gain more knowledge. Unless of course, you are in no hurry to get it playing. In that case set it aside for a little while and start doing a lot of reading. Chuck Traeger has written two books on the subject that will be a great starting point for you.