1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Lack of skill in playing bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by sevortz, Mar 10, 2010.

1. sevortz

sevortz

Mar 10, 2010
    hey guys, i've been playing bass for 2 years, but i can only play pop songs. i want to play metal songs like lamb of god or arch enemy, instead in metal i can only play trivium or aild, i cant do triplets and my left fingers sucks, i cant play fast, do anyone know how to improve my skill :D?

sorry im a noob and my english sucks

2. lowfreq33

lowfreq33

Jan 27, 2010
    Nashville
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification
    Practice?

3. kr0n

kr0n

Feb 4, 2009
    Repetition in practice, economy of motion. Use a metronome and speed it up gradually. Takes a few years of woodshedding to play fast...

4. sevortz

sevortz

Mar 10, 2010
    yeah i practice much but it doesnt increase much, i play with two fingers, is it faster if i play with pick?

5. OldogNewTrick

OldogNewTrick

Dec 28, 2004
    Germany, EU
    if you are serious about improving, you'll invest in regular lessons with a good teacher.

to keep on shredding will not get you any further, but reinforce all the bad habits you have picked up... IMHO.

6. Fun Size Nick

Fun Size Nick

Feb 21, 2006
    Hong Kong
    My advice would be to find a good teacher.

7. lowfreq33

lowfreq33

Jan 27, 2010
    Nashville
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification
    Playing with a pick isn't necessarily faster than fingers.

8. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Not necessarily. Pick or fingers, depending on what tone you want, and what you are comfortable with. No harm in mastering both.