1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Learning Double Bass

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by danben113, Jun 7, 2012.

1. Okay so I'm aware that there's probably a thousand different posts out there about learning upright, but just wanted suggestions based on my current situation.
    Also, forgive me if there's grammatical or spelling mistakes, I've been on my feet for 5 hours doing curtains/stage crew at a concert.

So, with that out of the way let me start by saying that I am mainly a guitarist (electric and acoustic) as well as a vocalist (bassist :D) but about 2 years back when I moved schools my music teacher needed to find an instrument for me to play and the only thing I've had experience with is guitar, so she put me on the only non-wind instrument in the band, electric bass.

Since then I've finished middle school and haven't played too much bass but in the High School I currently attend (it's an arts school, I'm there for vocals) the instrumental music teacher just bought a double bass and he needed someone to play for jazz and wind ensemble, so he decided to see how I'd do.

Now, all I know about the bass is that it's a full size, I'm pretty sure it's plywood but I may be wrong, it has jazz pickups for pizzicato playing, and it cost the department about three and a half grand with the bow, which is a french with white hair.
    My teacher also just recently got some rosin for the bow.

I've had the opportunity to "mess around" with the instrument a bit, get around the fact that it's flippin massive and awkward to hold, and I could play a chromatic scale or two pizz because I didn't have the bow back then.