Learning Theory

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by cassanova, Aug 6, 2005.

1. cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    As some of you know, like pacman, gard, jazzbo, durrl, i have some knowlege of music theory, but IMO its not nearly enough. I have a new bass, its a 6 string and I want to learn music theory in and out. Id take music theory 1 at my college, but they dont offer it at the campus I go to, Id have to drive a lil over an hour away for that, and well, its not an option.

Im treating myself like I'm a beginner again. Whats the best place to start learning theory. I know my scales and arpeggios, and the basic stuff like that, but I need a much deeper understanding of it the way many of you do. Wheres a good place to start my reborn quest?
  2. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
  3. Pcocobass

Jun 16, 2005
    New York
  4. Phil Smith

Phil Smith Mr Sumisu 2 U

May 30, 2000
    Peoples Republic of Brooklyn
    Creator of: iGigBook for Android/iOS
    cassanova, what do you think you're missing? What blanks are you trying to fill in? What concepts are you trying to wrap your head around? To what end will this theory be?
  5. DeanG

Jul 30, 2005
    I know you said it isn't an option but I'd drive an hour and get theory 1-4. I knew more than most and still picked up quite a bit.
  6. cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    There lies the problem Phil. I dont know what Im missing. I know barely enough theory to get by. Just enough to wing it through a tune with a decent, yet solid line if need be but ask me to throw down a funtional walking line for jazz standard and I'm lost though. (Make sense?) To what end will this theory be? I dont know, until I feel I'm at a professional level like Pacman, Durrl, Jazzbo, and some others here are with theory.

Look man, if I said its not an option, then its not an option. I'd do it if I could but right now I just cant.
  7. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000