Looking for advice on multiple fronts (adult beginner)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by AlexMYS, Oct 15, 2021.

1. AlexMYS

AlexMYS

Oct 15, 2021
    Hello everyone,

My name is Alex and I'm 27 years old, from Serbia. For a couple of months now I've been thinking about buying a bass guitar and starting to learn, but I have multiple questions so I registered on the forum to get answers from the experts :)

It will be a longer post, but I want to have all fronts covered.

First of all, I'm a professional chiropractor/physical therapist, I'm afraid that the callouses might affect my profession, since I expect painful fingers for a while. What is your opinion and is there a way to make the process more bearable? I have fairly tough fingers, since I've been lifting weights seriously for a decade, but it's a different thing.

Gear related questions next - 5 string or 4 string? Active or passive?

I listen to all kinds of music, and I really mean it, from Serbian turbo-folk to technical death metal, so I'd like to have as versatile instrument as possible, to be able to play along different songs and grow into the instrument. It seems to me that an active bass would give me a lot more versatility. I think that eventually I will need the 5th string, is it a good idea to start on a 5 string then? My budget is around 450 euros, which is around 500$, I can probably add 50 euros as well if needed. I found an Ibanez BTB405QM for 420 euros/489$, used but in great condition, Marcus Miller M7 Swamp Ash 4st NT 1st Gen for 450e/520$ also used, but in great condition and set up and a Cort B4 Plus AS-RM AB for 380e/440$ which is brand new. Prices in my country are higher than in the USA/UK. I'm open for all suggestions, these three seemed good to me, but that means nothing...