1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Looking for Microbass Knowledge

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Mark Wybierala, Apr 24, 2017.

1. Mark Wybierala

Mark Wybierala

Apr 24, 2017
    Central NJ
    From the limited selection of available UBass or micro-bass strings, has anyone tried to use these strings on an instrument with a 24.5 to 26" scale?. This is the scale length of the average six string guitar. It is also the scale length of a cello 1/2 or 3/4 cello. You can buy a cheap imported student cello for under $200 on ebay and end up with a micro-upright bass if you had the right strings.

I've been looking into this question for about two years now. I've been a luthier and professional stringed instrument tech for almost twenty years. In this time, I've built many short scale basses and have found that 30" is about the lower limit using conventional bass guitar strings and ending up with a functional electric bass.

The UBass or microbass is really quite a cool instrument and has a place. The only reason it works is because of the availability of these new strings and the research going into the development of new and better materials and design of these strings. If you can get a low E at a 20" scale, it just follows that this can be done using a traditional six string guitar scale of 24.5 to 26". If the strings were available, it would probably devastate the market for the UBass but I don't see a reason why we shouldn't be pursuing something so obvious. There'd be no reason why the average intermediate skilled tech could not take any acoustic guitar and convert it into a bass. Is there anyone else here who is looking into this?

2. Will_White

Will_White

Jul 1, 2011
    Salem, OR