Looking for practice amp...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by invader3k, Feb 13, 2004.

1. Hey everyone. I am new to this board, and this is my first post. Sorry if this is a little long-winded.

Just a little background: I have been playing bass for about five years now. I consider myself a decent player, but not great. I play semi-regularly in a cover rock 'n' roll band (we do some originals too). We need a new drummer...(different story, different time).

Anyway, I own a Peavey TNT 115S that I use for gigs and playing with the band. However, for solo practice in my apartment I have a crappy little Epiphone amp that came with my first bass (an Epiphone Accu-Bass beginner setup). The amp has kind of a "farty" sound and doesn't handle the low end very well at all. The speaker is pretty small...five or six inches I think? I would like to find something that has good tone for both playing on my fretless Fender Jazz bass as well as my American Standard P-Bass. I play a lot of punky stuff, as well as classic rock and alternative type music.

What can you all recommend for practicing in an apartment? I am not too concerned with it being too loud...our apartment is rather isolated (kind of hard to explain). I don't want anything huge, because it will be used mainly in a cramped office/computer room. I would like to stay under $300. Only interested in new equipment (too many bad experiences with used stuff).

2. inazone

Apr 20, 2003
    Tascman (sp?) bass trainer ($140) and a nice set of head phones ( $50-$100). This is a fun little practice tool. Other than that I would spend a little more for a hartke KB12 or ampeg BA112. Both about $370 new. JMO, but for a practice amp, I would still buy used.
  3. I got a Peavey Minx ($249 musiciansfriend) a couple of weeks ago. Works for me
  4. DB5

Jul 3, 2001
    Austin Texas