Looking for Recommendations for a new Bass ($500-600)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Joseph Devera, Jun 29, 2020.

1. Joseph Devera

Joseph Devera

Jun 29, 2020
    I've been using an Ibanez Soundgear bass for almost 8 years now, and it's performed magnificently for me. But recently one of the tuning pegs broke all of a sudden, which got me thinking that it might be a good idea to look into investing in another bass.

I play bass mostly for worship in church, playing songs by the likes of Hillsong, Elevation, Bethel. The usual suspects.
    But I also jam on the side to punk and alternative rock, in styles similar to Simple Plan, Neck Deep, Sleeping with Sirens, and Red Jumpsuit Apparatus (boy do I miss them).

I'm looking at a budget of roughly $500-600 (I'm still a student, sue me), although I'm open to going a bit higher if the bass really appeals to me.
    Personally, I'm not a fan of the Fender-style tuning pegs, and I prefer them in 2L+2R instead of 4 in a row.
    Not particular to active or passive, jazz or P, four or five strings.

Any recommendations and suggestions are greatly appreciated!

2. The Yamaha TRBX 604 is a good choice.
    There are a lot of fans of them on TalkBass.

But you can’t go wrong with a Precision Bass style. There are enough different types of them available now to find one that has a different headstock & tuners.

3. Joseph Devera

Joseph Devera

Jun 29, 2020
    Hmmm, thanks for the suggest. I've never really considered Yamaha guitars before since where I'm from, they don't have a very professional reputation (except for keyboards and more classical instruments). But I guess as long as the tone is good, brand really shouldn't be a factor.

Guild B301 likes this.
  4. In your shoes I'd research which decent 'middle class' basses I like and hunt them down in the second-hand market. For $500-600 you should be able to find something very, very nice.

MrLenny1 likes this.
  5. 350125g0

350125g0

Mar 4, 2020