1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for that Chris Squire sound on a budget

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sartor, Mar 30, 2009.

1. sartor

sartor

Mar 22, 2009
    Hello,

Let me first say that I'm a guitarist who's new to the bass world.

I love Chris Squire's sound on Yes' "Fragile" LP, and I'd like to emulate it on a budget.

Was he using a Rick with Rotosounds?

I can afford the strings but not the Rick. Should I go for a one-piece Guild or am I way off?

Thanks in advance.

2. boondox

boondox

Oct 8, 2008
    Schecter makes Ric looking basses, but I have not played one and have no idea if they sound anything like Rics. They look pretty cool, imo. GC carries them if you have one nearby.

http://www.schecterguitars.com/

Look for the stargazer 4 to get an idea of what they look like.

3. Mystic Michael

Mystic Michael Hip No Ties

Apr 1, 2004
    New York, NY
    1. Learn to play the "air bass".
    2. Sync to a really good recording of Chris.
    3. Rock on.

MM

Gunga Din and MrLenny1 like this.
  4. sartor

sartor

Mar 22, 2009
    Re: boondox: It certainly looks the part. Thanks for the tip, I'll give it a listen and see how it sounds.

I know I can save cash and play just about anything with a Peavey Fury, SX or what have you, but if there's any cheap way of getting Chris tone I'd love to hear it.

5. What MM said, plus some thoughts --

I'm a huge Geddy Lee fan, and while growing up I realized that some of Lee's style/sound derived from his Squire influence. So then I listened to Squire as much as I could. From that, I learned a lot --