1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

LOW F# - what strings?

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by Jagdmusik, Dec 18, 2006.

1. I'm fixin' to to get myself a 5-string Ergo EUB, planning to tune it way down to F#-B-E-A-D for uber-bottom-dwelling underneath a group also containing bass guitar and/or low keyboard playing.

I plan to both pluck and bow. This will not be traditional music, so I don't need to pull off genuine classic jazz or arco tones or whatever; but I want it to sound good, defined with some bite if possible, not boomy or totally tubbed-out. I'm primarily a bass guitarist and have minimal upright experience, so I don't need it to feel "normal" for an upright or good for fancy lines; but I want it to be playable.

What kind of strings would be best for me? Are there any sets available that are intended to be tuned as low as I'm going?

Jesse at Ergo recommended simply detuning a steel B-E-A-D-G set. I'm a bit suspicious of that, coming as I am from bass guitars with their puny scale length, but I can see how it's feasible given the Ergo's 42". If I were to use this approach, I'd be inclined to use the most brutally high-tensioned BEADG 3/4 set in existence. Who makes that? Also, might 1/2-scale strings have higher tension? Would they be long enough to fit?

2. Michael Glynn

Michael Glynn

Feb 25, 2004
    Seattle
    I would say that Thomastik Spirocore Starks might be your best bet. They are very high tension and have the definition and bite you are looking for. Whether or not they would retain that definition and bite when tuned down that far is a question that I can't answer. I'm not sure I could even hear that low F# anyway! Good luck.

3. You want the F# that's a fourth lower than the low B?
    :eek:
    That's 23.1 Hz!