Major Breakthrough - Pick Playing

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Rlbragg15, Jul 20, 2018.

1. Rlbragg15

Rlbragg15

May 25, 2013
    ATL
    TBers -

I've been playing bass seriously for over 10 years - exclusively finger style, with some slap. Recently, I've been trying to incorporate pick playing into my skill set, especially after falling in love with my AVRI '63 P bass with flats. I've been struggling for months, but finally had a breakthrough.. Guess what, you don't have to kill it with your picking hand! I would say I have a moderately aggressive finger style and I suppose I transferred that to pick playing. I found myself cramping holding the pick and not being very fluid. I finally loosened up a little bit and focused on a more easy, fluid picking style and the light came on. I'm still working on it, but the lesson to folks in the same boat as me is loosen up and don't pick as hard. The volume will be there and you'll be better able to move across the strings.

LB

Badwater, brumebat, Rocker47 and 3 others like this.
  2. lowplaces

lowplaces Got Punch ?

Dec 20, 2015
    Louisville Kentucky
    Using a pick while palm muting on a bass strung with Flats is a killer Punchy tone.

I like thick mandolin picks.

Badwater likes this.
  3. As to the pick. I really like the Big Stubby 2.0 mm. I've used 1.00 to 3.00 mm and have zeroed in on the 2.0 Big Stubby.

Offered for what that is worth.

Last edited: Jul 21, 2018
    lowplaces likes this.
  4. Rlbragg15

Rlbragg15

May 25, 2013
    ATL
    Thanks - I've really gotten along with a .73mm dunlop

biguglyman, Rocker47 and lowplaces like this.
  5. AFRO

AFRO

Aug 29, 2010
    FWIW, this approach applies itself to finger style as well.