1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Making Peace with My Mediocrity

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Dr. Cheese, May 27, 2020.

1. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    I have been playing bass longer than many who post here have been alive. For years, I was mainly self taught, and was mostly a bedroom bassist. I have played in bands, and I have gigged a little. Mostly, I have played with choirs since the 1990’s. About five years ago, I started taking lessons, and I have really been consistent for the last three years. I can see the improvement, but it has become obvious to me that I have some ingrained habits that are very hard to stop at sixty. To be blunt, I do not think I will ever come close to what I might have been if I had started serious study at least thirty years ago. Ideally, I should have stuck to string bass in college. That would have given me a very strong foundation. I do not plan to quit lessons or serious practice. I just know that it is more for personal enrichment at this point in life.:)

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Masks, people, masks!
    Song Surgeon slow downer.
    Hey Doc,

As long as you're enjoying the ride and the scenery makes you happy, nothing to regret or worry about.:thumbsup:

I'm older than you so I know something about something, just can't remember what it is exactly. :roflmao:

Last edited: May 27, 2020
  3. Dr. Cheese

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    :roflmao::D

4. mikewalker

mikewalker Supporting Member

Jul 30, 2017
    Canada, Eh!
    barrenelly, bassicg, MCF and 16 others like this.
  5. Dr. Cheese

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis