1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Moving out: Some Advice?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Jimbob Jones, May 20, 2011.

1. Hi guys!

Let's start with a little back story.

I am a second year Engineering student, and I'm all set to do a paid placement year starting in June as part of my degree. I'm currently still living at home, and am hoping to move out.

My best mate (also the guitarist in my band) just got himself a permanent IT job at the place he was doing a 3-month placement. He also would like to flee the nest.

So, with that in mind, it would make sense for use to get a flat or small house together. I love the idea, and we've talked about it a lot, but like any good friendship, we annoy each other all the time, and I'm a bit concerned that living together is going to end up completely destroying that friendship.

So, Is moving in with my gui**** a good idea?

I know this isn't as entertaining as a lot of threads on tb, so here's a funny picture of a goat.

[​IMG]

TL;DR: will moving in with my best friend mean we end up not being friends?

2. TJ55

TJ55

Jun 5, 2010
    KY
    I understand what you are saying but then again I don't. Friends living together will w/o a doubt irritate one another from time to time (all the time though as you stated :meh: ) but ultimately it should be easy to quickly get over any issues if you guys are that close.

If you are having doubts then my first impression would be to take a step back and really talk to your buddy and try and get as clear a picture as possible of what might come between the two of you. You don't really know someone until you've lived together.

3. fmoore200

fmoore200

Mar 22, 2011
    NYC
    Is your 'paid placement' a position that you are guaranteed to keep? Or is it more like an internship, where if they like your work they have the choice of keeping you?