1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

MTD 535 or Lakland 55-94?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dessunx, Apr 11, 2009.

1. dessunx

dessunx

Dec 2, 2008
    Singapore
    I have been playing in church for a couple of years now. Been hit by GAS attack recently and would like to have my 1st MIA bass. I don't get to try any of the 2 basses where i lived so i really need feedback from you veterans before i jumped right in and get one of this shipped to me. :) I'm looking at a used one btw. Looking thru the buy-sell section, i think i can get a decent condition one at $2,500? So please help me out.:hyper:

2. black.rose1402

black.rose1402

Jan 10, 2007
    if you find one used, an mtd.
    If you want a brand new bass, go for the lakland

3. superfunk47

superfunk47

Sep 9, 2007
    Apples and oranges. Both are at the level of quality that neither will be "better" than the other, it's going to be about your personal preference and which one fits you better. Play examples of each and buy whichever one you like more.

4. vikunja

vikunja

Oct 29, 2004
    Norway
    I haven't had a 55-94, but I've had both a 55-01 and a MTD 535. I was much more happy with the 55-01. I'm probably going to buy a 55-94 or 55-02 in the future. The B-string on the 55-01 was plain and simple leagues better than the mtd 535 B-string.

5. GregC

GregC Johnny and Joe Gold Supporting Member

Jan 19, 2007
    Chicago
    Which one are you able to get used? I don't know anything about MTD prices, but you should be able to get a 55-94 in excellent condition for closer to $2000.

6. dessunx

dessunx

Dec 2, 2008
    Singapore