Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Musical Idiot....

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Humblerumble, Aug 26, 2004.

1. Humblerumble

Humblerumble

Feb 22, 2004
    VA.
    I believe that I discovered something. I am a musical dunce. I have been playing bass for twenty years or so, and I have always played by ear. When I first started playing guitar at age 14, we didn't have tabs and such, so if you wanted to learn a song you put on the album (that's the predecessor to cds for you youngsters) and you worked it out by ear. I still do that, or if someone starts playing something I can jump in after a few measures and play no problem. well I started my first Music Dojo class, Walking Bass 1, and by the third lesson we were learning chord tones, triads, diminished this and thats and I figured out at that time that I am in the musical LD group or so it felt. I hope that I can keep up with this class and continue on but by the third lesson, I was like wow, I'm a musical idiot :eek:

2. JohnBarr

JohnBarr

Mar 19, 2004
    Central NY
    Well Humbel, people were playing music for generations before anyone wrote it down. So you could say your roots go way back.

I'm starting from the opposite end. Learning music and then learning to play. I have an awful time trying to play along with songs, but can read the notes OK (well, sort of OK) It's just a different approach.

The more I play, the better I hear.

You may find that a little musical background will help you play, help you create new lines or know what works with what you hear. I hope it goes that way for you anyway. It's one way to grow.

But thinking and playing don't mix in real time. So neither of us (the player or the thinker) gets into the middle of a song and things: OK that was a pentatonic in G so I can do a triplet fill in Em). You work that out ahead of time and then just do it.