1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

MusicMan SUB RAY4 - how I fixed clipping int preamp :)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by StoneArc, Jul 19, 2012.

1. StoneArc

StoneArc

Jul 19, 2012
    Hi Everyone

**UPDATE - I fixed what I thought was bum electronics.. by lowering my pickup height as far as it goes. Sounds great my last post shows what I did with audio clips **

I have been lurking on this forum and looking for some advice to my issue. I'd just like to preface this post by saying I am not an expert in bass gear by any means, I have been playing bass for about 15 years and have had the same rig for the last 10 years. I do not even know exactly what model of bass I play, I know that it is a Yamaha RBX series, active with 3 band EQ. I am a basic rock player who uses a heavy handed pick. I wanted to buy a bass for home, instead of lugging my Yamaha from the rehearsal studio. I was just going to get a "no name whatever" online, but then the MusicMan SUB series caught my eye, they were so cheap it made me wonder why I didn't just pony up a bit more cash and get a nice bass instead a cheapie for practice? The Sub was only a couple hundred more.

I am a recording engineer, I ran my own studio for 7 years and I remember MusicMan bass sounds always impressing me. They had that "pro" bottom end that made recordings sound expensive, and I always thought they sounded very balanced across the neck, something I was critical of other basses including my Yamaha. It is OK when I EQ around it but there seems to be a big divide between the E and A string tones.