1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Musing on practice (again)

Discussion in 'Double Bass Pedagogy [DB]' started by The Biz, Nov 6, 2018.

1. Things that have been on my mind:

1- A lot of my 'mental blocks' when I practice are related to the fact that I can be heard by my neighbours. I've decoupled the bass from the floor to reduce vibrations, but bass plus bow is loud no matter what. Since I (obviously) practice what I am not good at, it can be quite embarrassing to think what the neighbours hear. Though nobody ever complained, and my upstairs neighbour often says how much she enjoys hearing me play, I often stop playing, or switch what I am working on, because I foolishly worry about embarrassment.

A shame really...I need to get past this but I think personality traits are hard to work on!

2 - The more I learn, the worse I sound. After a few weeks of working with drones, I am a million times more conscious of slight intonation misses. See point 1.

3- I read somewhere here that a member created 'playlongs' using real tunes, looping the head of the tune. This is a great idea (I added the first or second solo, and/or bridge in some case). Way more fun, 'authentic' and quite frankly some of the playalongs I've heard are boring as shag). I always loved (and learned to play by) playing along with records, why not do the same for standards!

4- There aren't enough hours in a day or energy in my body to do everything I wan tot do, but a little daily goes a long way. Skipping one or two days in a week makes a huge difference.

5 - (OT) the bass guitar is a completely different instrument. I rarely practice on it and it shows. I need to start dedicating a day or two (a month?) to it, just grabbing and playing isn't working anymore (see #2)

2. Garagiste

Garagiste

Feb 16, 2013