Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My Bass is falling apart! What should I do?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Scott, May 26, 2004.

1. Just recently I was practicing with some buddies and the little thing that the strap goes over completely came out. It was screwed in there pretty good when I started playing but I guess from all the movement it just popped out. I tried screwing it back in but had no luck. What should I do, should I just try to use some kind of glue? Please help.

Any advice would be great. Thanks Folks

Scott

2. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ
    Put a toothpick and mark where it comes out of the body. Then use this measurement and cut some toothpicks to this length. Next, put a small amount of wood glue in the hole, then screw the screw back in.

3. if the hole is stripped out you can fill it and then re-drill

4. Thanks for the advice guys, I'll give those suggestions a try.

Scott :bassist:

5. Perfect reason to get a new bass ;)

6. Indeed it is. But I think I'll just stick with my crappy one for now. :bassist:

7. Coutts_is_god

Coutts_is_god Guest

Dec 29, 2003
    Windsor, Ont, Canada
    That happen to my guitar. I tooth picked it work, didn't last. Glued worked, didn't last. So now I Toothpicked it and glued it :D

8. Funkize you

Funkize you Guest

Nov 4, 2003
    Westminster Ca.
    Save up enough money for a New axe, then Bash that one around inta stuff... Hitting things with stuff is sweet.

9. Welsh Rocker

Welsh Rocker

May 27, 2004
    Wales
    I've had the same problem! Ive tried screwing it back in :crying: doesnt work
    I've tried stuffing it with matches many times :crying: it expandes the hole) doesnt work
    I've even tried wood filler 2wice
    It does work for a little while :meh: