Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My new double bass

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by JDM, Oct 12, 2005.

1. JDM

JDM

Oct 12, 2005
    Hi all I'm very new to the double bass and recently aquired a 'Collins' double bass made in Germany. It's got a transducer pickup on the bridge which the previous owner bought of Ebay. It's a great looking bass with pine front and birch back and sides. The only problem is, it sounds very dull and ringy through my Hartke HA350 head with SWR 210 CAB. I expected much more, but as a mainly electric player, I know I can expect some sound challenges while making the leap from electric to accoustic. Can anyone offer any wisdom on the issues of amp/pickup etc....for the double bass,
    Thanks,
    Jon

2. Adrian Cho

Adrian Cho Supporting Member

Sep 17, 2001
    Ottawa, Canada
    What kind of pickup is it - brand and model I mean?

3. JDM

JDM

Oct 12, 2005
    I'm really not sure, but it's attached to the bridge.
    J

4. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    Possibly an impedance mismatch between the pickup and amp.
    Can you try to use a high input impedance preamp as a buffering device?
    A Fishman B-II or the like is enough, at least for testing purposes.

5. JDM

JDM

Oct 12, 2005
    Thanks for that reply, I have heared of such things, but how will they help? Are there any threads that you know of that address this situation in detail? Your help would be fantastic!
    Cheers,
    Jon

6. Doing a search under amps and pick-ups should get some results.

7. Bob Gollihur

Bob Gollihur GollihurMusic.com

Mar 22, 2000
    New Joisey Shore
    Big Cheese Emeritus: Gollihur Music
    I've written a blurb on the preamp issue at http://www.urbbob.com/preamptalk.html

8. JDM

JDM

Oct 12, 2005
    Fantastic, i'll be looking at that right away Bob!!