1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

n00b needs opinion on first big purchase...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BanJhankri, Mar 30, 2009.

1. BanJhankri

BanJhankri

Mar 30, 2009
    New Zealand
    Hi all,
    I've wanted to join fora while and with a new purchase coming up I figured now was an ideal time. I'll introduce myself properly in the right section later, but for now I've got something I'd love some knowledgeable feedback on...

A bit of background: I've been playing on a permanently loaned Marshall 150w since I started playing in 1999. It was fine for a beginner just playing at school or home, but after 10 years of wear and tear and moving into weekly professional work in medium sized venues combined with the poor performance of the marshall.. I need something with more grunt and a better sound! I have a budget though, which sadly holds me back from getting top of the line. And living on the edge of the world doesn't give me much selection.

Here is what I'm looking at getting later this week:
    http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing.aspx?id=209320076

if you aren't able to view the page, here are the details listed:
    SWR 350 X excellent condition in road case,see SWR website for specs

Gallien Krueger 4 X 10 BLX series2 Speaker cabinet, excellent condition 8 ohm 400w

Gallien Krueger 1 X 15 BLX series2 Speaker
    cabinet, excellent condition 8 ohm 200w

Cabinets on removable castors and has manual and all leads and subwave octave generator footswitch

Been gigged a few times, never thrashed or trashed