1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NBD- Dumpster find, first build, evilbay, Fender content, w/pics

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Neo1, Jan 5, 2017.

Tags:
  1. (I think that title covers everything) What you're about to see is the most unscientific creation, but I thought someone may enjoy seeing and hearing about the process. It all started with a simple walk with my wife on trash night, and finding an old acoustic someone had thrown away (you may recall from a previous thread my dumpster find w/bridge made from hinges; must be a lot of frustrated guitarists in my city).

Garbage find.JPG

This guitar must have suffered from some nasty buckle rash(?), as repairs were made to the back. There were only four original tuners still attached - a sign it was destined to become a bass. I brought it into my classroom (I’m a high school teacher - students took these pictures) and slowly began my build (sharing each step of the way with some of my students who took an interest).

Back (1).JPG

First up was finding a four-string tailpiece. Since I was planning on leaving this bass in my classroom for when I (or students) have the need to noodle, I was thinking cheap. On to evilbay, for a fancy gold tailpiece that set me back about $10 (gold to match the gold frets). I also ordered a nut (the original was missing - I ordered a metal one that was too small shown in the picture, and a $.99 plastic one that just needed some filing down), some strap buttons (also $.99), and a floating bridge (used - another $10). By now you may be thinking I could buy a cheap import acoustic bass for less, but what would be the fun in that?

Parts (1).JPG