1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Neck Swapping Question

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Mojo3432, Mar 1, 2013.

1. Hi Guys,

This is my first post....Total NEWBE. OK so has anyone ever swapped out the neck on a Sting Signature P-Bass with the neck that belongs on the 50s Classic Vibe P-Bass?

I tried it today, however the holes don't line up. They are off about 1/4 of an inch or so.

Thanks

2. Ragoo

Ragoo

Oct 14, 2011
    Richardson, Texas
    Please tell me you didn't put the screw in when the holes didn't line up...

3. Haha....Not yet. Please tell me why I shouldn't.

4. Ragoo

Ragoo

Oct 14, 2011
    Richardson, Texas
    Before I answer, how are they misaligned? Is one or two sets of holes closer to the body than the other set?

5. All 4 holes on the neck are about 1/4 of an inch higher than the holes on the body.

6. Phalex

Phalex Semper Gumby Supporting Member

Oct 3, 2006
    G.R. MI
    There is "the neck pocket" that the neck should fit into, and then there are the screw holes. If the neck fits into the pocket in the body everything is cool. The screw holes are irrelevant.

The screw holes should be filled in with dowels or toothpicks.

Fit the neck into the pocket.

Run a string or a rubber band through the bridge where the E and G strings would go, and run them through the nut where the E and G strings should go. (This is your reference for alignment. A little tension is ok.

Adjust the neck in the pocket so that the strings are straight as compared to the edges of the neck.

Clamp the neck in place.

CAREFULLY drill the correct sized holes to the correct depth.

Now you're ready to mount the neck with the screws.

Or just take it to a pro......

7. Ragoo

Ragoo

Oct 14, 2011
    Richardson, Texas