Need help finding a good pickup.

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by kevinb, Jan 8, 2006.

1. kevinb

Dec 6, 2005
    Reno, NV
    I need help! I'm looking for a good pickup in the $200 dollar range. I just started double bass recently but ive been playing bass guitar for a few years now. I'm playing with my high school band, the northern nevada honor jazz band, and a small combo with some friends. Can anyone give me some advice on a good pickup that will suit my needs. Any advice on a preamp would help too if you think i need one.

I was looking at the realist pickup...
  2. Ric Vice

Ric Vice Supporting Member

Jul 2, 2005
    Olivette, Missouri
  3. kevinb

Dec 6, 2005
    Reno, NV
    Well, reading through those topics, it seems like mics offer the more clear sound. But then i hear that the K&K Bass Max sounds good too.
  4. while the mic is the ideal i would suggest starting out with something like the bass max you mentioned. mics are more feedback prone, and playing with a big band it is likely to get bleeding from the drum kit.

What amp are you using? What preamp? These are all important factors that will help guide your decision. $200 could get you a nice setup.

The Underwood has been the standard for years (similair to the bass max).
  5. Tbeers

Mar 27, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    The Realist is a nice, zero-fuss pickup that will cost you a little less than $200 (last I checked). If you can deal with having a piece of foil under the bridge, it is a nice solution.
  6. kevinb

Dec 6, 2005
    Reno, NV
    At my school I run through a 100 watt Genz Benz combo, for my combo I'll be using my personal Fender 100 watt combo, and I'm not sure what I'll be using for the honor band. Probably my Fender.