Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need help picking a new amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Joe Joe, Aug 22, 2005.

1. Joe Joe

Joe Joe

May 12, 2005
    To give you a little background, I have been playing for 12 years with various bands and I've reached the point where less is more.
    I used to play through an old Crate BX160 with one 15" and loved it. I sold that and replaced it with a Warwick CCL 1x15 combo for more power and loved it.
    The only problem with the Warwick was it was slightly too big to fit in my car's trunk and I live on the 3rd floor of an apartment building w/out an elevator so portability became an issue.

I recently sold that amp and bought an Eden CXC110 and the CX110 subwoofer. Last night I tried it out for the first time as a whole and did not like the sound. The combo is great on its own for practice and small gigs but I plugged in the sub last night and couldn't find a tone I liked to save my life. I either got a low boom with no discernable notes and long sustain or all high end without any bass. I have a feeling it's the fact that it's 2 10's and I'm used to 15's. Or maybe I didn't hook it up correctly as I'm used to simple combos.

Regardless, I'm not happy with the sound as I look to larger venues but portability is a serious issue with me.

I play a Modulus Q5 and I prefer a sound that has less high end and more of a motown rhythmic punch.
    I am interested in looking at new combos to suit my needs.
    These are my necessities:
    1. Portability a must (smallest dimension less than 18")
    2. 15' speaker
    3. Combo preferred
    4. 200 Watts or higher
    5. direct out

Can anyone give me ideas or opinions on what to look at?

Thanks

2. Lync

Lync Supporting Member

Apr 13, 2004
    NY
    My opinion: