1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need Some Help with an Odd EHX Bass Micro Synth Mod...

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by JanusZarate, Jun 13, 2007.

1. JanusZarate

JanusZarate Low End Avenger

Feb 21, 2006
    Petaluma, CA, USA
    I'm not an electrical expert by any means, so bear with me here. Through some reading, testing and experiments, I've learned that the EHX Bass Micro Synthesizer:
    • Has a 2.5mm DC jack, instead of the usual 2.1mm
    • Is wired to be center-positive at the jack, instead of the usual center-negative
    • Seems to run just fine at 18VDC
    I've recently replaced the original DC jack with a new one that's 2.1mm, and I've wired it to be center-negative.

I tested it out, and everything powered up fine, and using just my bass and a computer, the effect works fine.

Now, here comes the weird part.

I plugged it in with the rest of my effects on my pedalboard, plugged it into my Dunlop DC Brick with everything else, and it wouldn't power up. I tried it at 18VDC using an 18VDC output on the Brick - nothing. I tried it on 24VDC using a 9VDC outlet and my Godlyke Power Pump - still nothing. But my other effects powered just fine...

I decided to unplug the patch cables from my BMS, and voila - the light came on! I plugged one cable back in, and the power to the BMS was knocked dead again. I unplugged it and tried the other one in the other jack - same thing.

So, here's what I'm seeing so far:
    • The BMS powers just fine by itself, and works when used by itself (no other effects in the chain)
    • All effects power up with the Brick as long as the BMS is not in the effects chain
    • The power to the BMS is cut off as soon as a patch cable is plugged in to either jack (input or output)