1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Need wiring help

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by OrangeFurball, Jul 21, 2012.

1. Update: I'm going to test the pups by hooking the up to a spare jack I have. If they work and are passive, I will try to figure the pots out and just wire it up like that. If it has to be active, here are my questions. If the pickups have 4 wires each, and there are only two spots to solder them to the pre amp, what goes where? Also, what do I solder the batteries to? There are no markings for positive or negative, and there are 4 unmarked areas that need to be soldered to. More pictures are in the posts below. Thanks!

So... as some of you may know, I bought a body and neck of a bass. Its passive (I think) but I'm not sure if this wired already. I'm very new to this! If it isn't wired, what do I have to do? ae36758a-f390-edd2. ae36758a-f3a3-6a36.

2. Send this to Electronics, there are a bunch of people that would help.

3. I feel like an idiot.. I should have done that from the start! :p

4. SGD Lutherie

SGD Lutherie Banned Commercial User

Aug 21, 2008
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    You can see it has a preamp and a place for a battery, so it's not passive. The pickups are probably passive however.

I'd try it out before you gut the thing.

5. I want to try it out. I have an extra jack lying around but I don't know where to hook it up (there isn't one) If the pickups would work I may try to rewire it as passive. Not sure yet (don't know how to do that either :p )