Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

never gotten good never gotten bad just compeltely horrible

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by behindgreyeyes, Aug 30, 2004.

1. behindgreyeyes

behindgreyeyes Guest

Aug 30, 2004
    To be completely honest, I have been playing bass for four years, wait no, let me reprhase that: I have owned a bass for four years now and have attempted learning how to play many many many times. I suck at best, completely horrible, you couldn't even call my slaughering of songs music. I bet a person that has never seen a bass gutar could play better than me!! The sad thing is I really want to learn how to play. An even sadder thing is that I'm in a band and am completely frustrated because I only know how to play what the gutarist tells me to play (by pointing at the frets and strings, kinda emberassing). I have trouble remembering what he tells me to play because I have a horrible memory (that and I really dont know how to play AT ALL). Sure, I've got three bass related books: Bass Fretboard Basics, Funk Bass, and The Bass Grimoire(which is completely greek to me). Yeah, I've been practicing with these books (minus the Grimoire) but it's booring as hell (can I say hell here?). Not only that but it's really frustrating whenever I try learning tabs because I am just that bad. PLEASE GIVE ME SOME ADVICE!!! Could you reccomend some easy tabs to start out with or anything really desperation is the key word here, I really dont want to let my band down!

PS: I just finished a practice session (lone practice session) where I seemed to regress through the entire two hours I "played" so half of that previous paragraph was me blowing off steam while the other half was a genuine plea for some advice.

:help: I'm stuck behind a :bag: when all I have really wanted to do is :bassist: but all I seem to get is :spit: