1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New bass build

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by CholisGuitars, Mar 30, 2013.

1. CholisGuitars

CholisGuitars

Mar 30, 2013
    Illinois
    Hello All,

This is my first time posting on the forum. We traditionally build electric guitars, but have started on a couple of bass models, so I figured I'd share a few pictures. Here is the first prototype fresh off of the CNC.

bassfront.

bassback.

Thanks for looking,
    Bobby

2. "Feels" very retro. Not sure about the sunken playing area potentially because I've never seen it before. Good luck and subbed.

3. Splods

Splods

Oct 7, 2012
    Adelaide, SA
    That look really interesting, I would of had the layers reversed, so the playing area was raised. It does look very groovy though!

4. CholisGuitars

CholisGuitars

Mar 30, 2013
    Illinois
    Thanks for looking! The sunken area actually makes it more comfortable to play because your wrist can be straighter. I know many play with their thumb on the body to give elevation over the strings, so this is my answer to that somewhat fatiguing position. We will see I guess :)

My client likes Les Paul basses, so I kept the design similar to that, but something more curvy with a big booty.

I will be posting more pics and construction ideas as the build progresses

5. Loving that curvy big booty!

Subbed!

6. CholisGuitars

CholisGuitars

Mar 30, 2013
    Illinois
    The booty is 13.61 inches wide. It doesn't feel too big to me. I wanted to keep it inside 14 inches. Do you all traditionally try to stay inside a certain blank when designing a non "whale" sized bass?

7. CholisGuitars

CholisGuitars

Mar 30, 2013
    Illinois
    I'll also be making this one soon.

BadAssBass.

8. Whoah liking that hump for the bridge.

9. Muziekschuur

Muziekschuur