1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

new bass - need help on the pickup stuff

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by tester423, Mar 10, 2008.

1. tester423

tester423

Feb 21, 2008
    northeast TN
    I'm also new to this bord as well - been reading around for a while but Just can't find what i'm looking for.

I am putting a new 4 string together (a buddy talked me into it). I am finding the pick up options to be limitless. I actually prefer to stay passive but I am open to active. I think the passive stuff I have played seems to be a little warmer. My 5 sting is active but it's all stock Ibanez stuff. I like it ok but my frankenstine 4 string actually has more output and its passive. Anyway we could beat that up for a long time so back to the question. I definately want humbuckers. I use a really funky tight tone. I do slap it some or well alot actually. So when I dig in hard or thump on it I want it to come ALIVE.

So I hope you can help me out here. If not, Thanks anyway.

Dick,

2. fullrangebass

fullrangebass

May 7, 2005
    Europe
    What kind of budget are you talking about? this is a very important part of the trip to sonic Nirvana

3. tester423

tester423

Feb 21, 2008
    northeast TN
    well I'm not real worried about it - If I have to I can get it a piece at a time. It's gonna take a while to get the body done anyway so I'm not in a real big hurry. It's not a super sexy one off unit but I don't want cheap junk in it either. $300ish I would hope could cover it.

4. fullrangebass

fullrangebass

May 7, 2005
    Europe
    If it will take you some time to finish the body, my vote goes for the new line of Villex pickups with a 3 band cut/boost passive EQ. it's not available to the public yet (they are fixing some minor details on the product). I suppose they will be readily available very soon.

You may read the review here