New Here :)

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by ClockworkTyrant, Sep 21, 2017.

Tags:
  1. ClockworkTyrant

ClockworkTyrant

Sep 21, 2017
    Ohio, USA
    Hey there!

I was looking around online at some bass stuff and came across this site a few times so I figured I'd join? :')

I'm a bit new to bass? I've had mine since my last birthday, in January, and so far I've kind of just been attempting to juggle school and teaching myself. I really don't know much other than how to play, I have six years experience on flute and in choir so I know how to read music on both staffs but I'm still reading tabs for my bass.

The start of this school year brought on a random idea to start a band, and now that it's actually happening I figure I should really try my best to improve my playing! :D:D

Any advice is greatly appreciated! :bassist:

East Coast and DuranFanWI like this.
  2. Tom Lane

Tom Lane Gold Supporting Member

3 octave scales and a teacher, to start. That's year one.

ClockworkTyrant likes this.
  3. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Welcome to TalkBass!!!!

You are starting your journey at a great time in tech history. There are online lessons everywhere.

Check out Scott's bass lessons. There are plenty more.

Glad you're here. Good lick!

4. Tom Lane

Tom Lane Gold Supporting Member

BUT, get a teacher... someone who's playing you admire... there are thousands of people who know more than you but only a few are local to you and can focus on you... but, none of them are on-line. Not to say that on-line vids are worthless, definitely not, but they don't come remotely close to an educated professional DB teacher. Ultimately, it depends on you... are you playing DB to get gigs and "just" getting by or do you want to master the instrument?