New Player- Are Lessons "Worth It"?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by El_Charro, Aug 17, 2020.

1. El_Charro

El_Charro

Aug 11, 2020
    Hi All,

Just wondering if you think bass lessons are "worth it" for a new player.

I know how to read tabs and have watched some things on YouTube and knew how to read music as a teenager (it's been years so I'm pretty rusty). I only reference this because while I'm completely new to bass and haven't tried to play music in years I do have at least a foundation to start with even if it's very small.

Just wondering for the more experienced people here if you felt like lessons helped or hurt your playing? Should I be looking for anything in particular from a teacher? The Guitar Center near me is having a sale on lessons so I'm tempted to give it a shot.

Convincing myself to practice doesn't seem to be an issue- Just wondering if I'm f-ing up by learning on my own as it isn't really formal training and I have wondered what bad habits I may be inadvertently forming. Also wondering if having a lesson once every few weeks would accelerate the learning process...

Thanks!

2. bass12

bass12 Blistering barnacles! Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2008
    Montreal, Canada
    Lessons with the right teacher can be invaluable. I have a feeling, however, that the “right teacher” is not going to be found at Guitar Center.

3. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Syracuse NY
    Endorsing artist: Dingwall Guitars
    Yes. Lessons are worth it.

Having directed instruction that provides a structure for your understanding and growth as a player and a musician is really great. As someone who did that on guitar but never did much on bass, I wish I had bass lessons 30 years ago. I've taken some here and there now...but I think if I'd done it then I wouldn't have to spend as much time and energy connecting the dots on my own rather than knowing how the pieces and parts fit together.