1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

newbie needs help?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by catfisch, Oct 7, 2010.

1. I would like to look at a '62 Karl Hofner fully carved 3/4, this Saturday. Local luthier is asking $1950. "Worth about $6500", has ebony fingerboard, adjustable bridge, new Thomastic Spiro-core. Set up and gone through, top was removed, sound post has been cleated.
    I've been playing electric for many years, but am unfamiliar with real basses.

Is the price reasonable? attractive? questionable? What should I look for? What questions should I ask?

I play rock, swing, fusion.

My thoughts are that this bass will not depreciate. I welcome any comments or insight anyone can offer.

2. Eric Swanson

Eric Swanson

Oct 8, 2007
    Boston, MA
    Initial thoughts (all based on the assumption that you have not bought a double bass before; forgive me if I am wrong, please):

- Most importantly, welcome here!

- If you will fill out your profile, you will "help us help you" with recommendations for nearby resources

- Plan on, and negotiate, taking the bass "on trial" so that you can take it to a professional bass luthier (who is not trying to sell you this bass) to get a thorough examination.

- Ignore the "...probably worth about $6500..." if it is worth that, then why is it not being sold for that?

- Be aware that a double bass in poor health can be a virtual black hole for cash. Whether or not the bass is "worth" $6500, it could easily cost you up to that amount by the time it is fixed properly, if it has certain issues. Unless you have limitless disposable funds, move slowly, here. Basses are much easier to buy than they are to sell.