1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Newbie post - busted D Helicores

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Jamolah, Jul 31, 2008.

1. Jamolah

Jamolah

Apr 28, 2005
    UK, North East
    Hello DB Posters!

I'm a newbie DB player a mere 6 months into my career, having made the shift from BG. I would appreciate some advice and support, given my inexperience and neophyte status.

I recently had a new set of strings put on my bass, a set of Helicore pizz. I took the bass out of the house for the first time today, about 2 weeks after getting it back from my repair guy. I went to tune up from the rehearsal room piano and, after barely touching the peg, my D snapped. This is the second time this string has gone, although this time with a break in the string, rather than springing out.

I'm devastated, as I haven't played out with the bass since the restringing and am still reeling from the high cost of a set. My repair guy said, when I collected the bass, that there's nothing wrong with the bridge or nut saddles, as apparently this can cause strings to break over sharp points. This snap seems to have happened right on the D peg. Am I doing something wrong? What advice can you guys give me to avoid this kind of thing happening again? Any advice on restringing it myself, maintaining tuning, storing and caring for the bass would be appreciated, no matter how common-sense it might seem.

Cheers,
    JP

2. TroyK

TroyK Moderator Staff Member

Mar 14, 2003
    Seattle, WA