1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

No effects experience.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by basshero1107, Apr 26, 2009.

1. basshero1107

basshero1107

Jun 20, 2007
    Franklin, TN
    My band:

www.myspace.com/abovethesunmusic

I have NO effects experience whatsoever. I know what most of the different effects do but what kinds of effects could i use in my style of music? I've been looking into some effects for a while but never got any money to spend, now i got some. WOOHOO!

Teach me.

2. Hmm, maybe some simple things like overdrive, or phasers, flangers, but your music doen't really sound like it needs a great amount of effects. A delay or reverb could be quite apt for your style of music.

If you really want to get into effects try starting out with a multi effects box, then if you decide later you need more, sell it and start a pedal collection.

3. kevteop

kevteop

Feb 12, 2008
    York, UK
    You could get away with fuzz on a lot of that, because your guitarists are playing clean. Or start looking into octavers and filters if you want something synthier.

Or start singing, there's not a lot of that in your band.

4. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I would look for a good solid bass overdrive before anything. You can play in bands all your life and never use effects if you don't want, but overdrive is becoming a standard effect on bass these days, so it's probably a good idea to start with one of them.

5. excane

excane Banned

Aug 23, 2005
    New York, NY
    This WILL change after hanging with us here after a few days....:smug:

Be prepared to give your wallet a workout.

6. BioDriver

BioDriver A Cinderella story

Aug 29, 2008
    Austin, TX
    More like a beating.