1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

[Noob] Extra strings - Overambitious or Future Proofing?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Anatosuchus, Aug 27, 2020.

1. Yep, it's awesome and you'll be awesome.

12 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. Nope, you only got five fingers, dude.

6 vote(s)
    33.3%
  1. Anatosuchus

Anatosuchus

Aug 21, 2020
    UK
    Hey,

I started learning in May, and have an Ibanez EDC-705 which is okay though I need to sort some buzz and the tone a bit at the low end. I got a 5-string because I listen to quite a bit of detuned metal stuff and wanted to be able to play as much as possible without retuning. This is working okay for me (I'm managing to transpose* the odd song across to make use of the extra string and my overall agility is improving daily), and I'm really happy with five except...

I may be about to get together enough cash to get a Dingwall NG3 5-string, and whilst drooling over the kit I noticed I could get a 6-string model for almost the same price. But, I'm a total beginner. My thought is that a 6 can't do any harm, and will give me more options as I improve but I don't know if there might be some horrible issues waiting for me if I dive in. I'm not likely to get the cash for another upgrade well, maybe ever. Point of order: I have smallish hands but I don't think that should be a big issue.

So, am I being overwhelmed by my gearhead tendencies or is a six actually not such a terrible idea?

*If that's the right term.

TolerancEJ and gebass6 like this.
  2. JimmyThunder

JimmyThunder Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2008
    New Hampshire
    i vote you stick with the plan

Anatosuchus likes this.
  3. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    Getting a Dingwall 3 months into playing, regardless of the number of strings it has, is a big jump.