1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Not quite like riding a bike --

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by SuperKGang, Mar 7, 2018.

Tags:
  1. SuperKGang

SuperKGang

Feb 19, 2018
    I'm 47 years old. Was a self-taught hack in college and played in a few garage bands. But life happened and I stopped playing. It's been at least 15 years since I touched a bass. Then, my poopiehead nephew borrowed my bass and never returned it. I guess I'm having a mid-life crisis because I want to play everyday now. Even bought myself a beautiful new bass. But it ain't like riding a bike -- especially since I wasn't all that good of a player when I did play. Was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for exercises to build back strength, accuracy, and speed? Also any recommendations for on-line lessons? If I'm gonna relearn to play, I want to play right this time. Thanks.

2. Knee to knee lessons will get you started on the right foot. A local teacher which can give you instant feed back is recommended, however, there are a few things you can do on your own before you get with a teacher, if you remember how to hold the beast, how to tune it and things like that.

This link will be time well spent. How to get started?
    Learn where the notes are on the fret board. Right now just
    first position - the first five frets will have any note you will
    ever need. We can go up the neck later.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqpUCD2yrn_vzOSwJcZJssXJwl3HEmGcqs_kAE-RwrqoHqWUMEiw.

Learn some scales patterns and run them up and down your bass neck a zillion times.

Major scale box showing scale degree numbers
    and the root note on the 4th string.
    ........Index...Middle..Ring...Little
    G~~|---2---|-------|---3---|---4---| 1st string
    D~~|---6---|-------|---7---|---8---|
    A~~|---3---|---4---|-------|---5---|