NS CR5M questions

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by MikeBass, Jun 27, 2005.

1. MikeBass

Nov 4, 2003
    Ferndale MI.
    Artist: Xotic Basses/AccuGroove
    Wow, this side seems a lot calmer than the electric bass side!!

Anyway, I'm a newbie (weird using that term when talking about myself :smug: ) to the EUB world as I'm about to take the plunge into a NSCR5M sometime in the near future.

I play fretless electric bass a lot (FYI- F Bass BNF5) in various styles, ie. country, jazz, rock blah blah blah and I know, it's not the same.
    What are the biggest hurdles that this primary electric player is going to face. Besides dealing with the scale length (what is the scale actually on the CR5M?).

My DB skills are pretty shabby right now and my reasoning for picking one of these up is to 1) get that portion of my playing back up to a decent level 2) I don't really have the means of storing an actual DB safely (I do own my own house, but they take up a bit of space) and 3) the basic upkeep and maintance is something that at this point I don't want to have to deal with. Plus moving a DB is a bit of a pain and the NS seems to solve this in spades.

I haven't played DB in quite some time-maybe 15 years now, and I'm kinda excited to get into it a bit.

For amplification I'm using a Eden CXC110 combo amp with a Eden CX110 extention cab if needed. This is my main electric rig as well.
  2. MikeBass

Nov 4, 2003
    Ferndale MI.
    Gee, thanks for the support over here guys!
  3. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    Hi Mike.
    We had several threads about NS EUBs recently.
    Did you browse them?
    Best of luck with your new toy!

4. MikeBass

Nov 4, 2003
    Ferndale MI.