opinions please...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Reverend G-Money, Jun 21, 2004.

1. OK, so i have been bandwhoring for about 2 months with a local popular rock act while they are looking for new bass player. i already have a solid gig, but my schedule recently opened up (no more psycho ex-girlfriend) and i made it clear to them that i would really like to have the job, as it doesn't affect my other band. Originally i was told by them that they "didn't want to disrupt my current gig" and that we were all friends so they "didn't want to step on anyone's toes". so anyway here's the dilemmas

1. isn't it my choice whether or not i want to disrupt my current situation to play with them if they offer me the gig?

also i've been told by numerous fans, club owners, freinds etc.. that i make their band about 10 times better and there is finally "energy on stage", and "room filling sound", and that it sounds like a "real band". if just about every one they come in contact with tells them i make them sound and look better, then maybe i should be considered for the job, correct? so here's the next dilemma

2. I have been told through a source that i'm "just not what they are looking for." OK so they let me change some tunes, they like my ideas, helped their stage show, and we get along great, but that's not what they are looking for?

3. I have also been told that i'm "too much" for them. the lead singer is a pretty boy and i was told that he feels i take the show away from HIM (i'm not a soloist, i'm an entertainer). as if he's god and all that is on the stage must observe his righteous space and not cross "that line". yet i'm still filling in for them and i am will be playing with them through july or so. (yes, i am getting paid)

should i be pissed or just chalk this up as an experience? I enjoy the music, but i think these guys may be a little too high maintenance... any opinions?
  2. outofthedeep

outofthedeep Guest

Jan 14, 2004
    East Texas