1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Opinions Wanted on 2-12 Cabinets

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Ampig, Oct 26, 2009.

1. Ampig

Ampig Supporting Member

I'm currently using an Avatar 4-10 cab which sounds surprisingly good with the URB, but many of our venues have tight cramped stages and I'm thinking of going to something smaller. Maybe a 2-12 cab or even a 2-10. What are your experiences with these cab configurations and what woud you recommend? My amp is an Eden WT-400. I play jazzgrass-americana style music. I've only been playing URB for about 5 years and I'm still learning the ropes of how to get a good amplified live sound.
    Note: I'm not rolling in a cash.

2. Ezbass

Ezbass

Apr 3, 2008
    U.K.
    I don't play upright, but I love my Schroeder 1212L for my Fenders. Small, light and yet powerful (800 watts, 1000 watts for the non neo 1212R version). They are voiced with a distinct low midrange hump that helps the bass sit really well in the mix FOH and also gives great on stage monitoring if you need it. I use mine with a Markbass head.

3. Ric Vice

Ric Vice Supporting Member

Jul 2, 2005
    Olivette, Missouri
    Ampig,
    I think I'd go with the 2x10 rather than the 2x12. For most DB players an increase the diameter of the speaker cones will get you more bass and more trouble with lo frequency feedback because of the added bass response and dispersion of the bigger speakers. To my ears smaller speakers recover between low notes faster, thus my VL 208 sounded much better than the VL 210 did.

Ric

4. Jefenator

Jefenator Supporting Member

Aug 22, 2008
    Oregon
    If the physical size is a big concern on cramped stages, most conventional 2x12s use the same size box as their 4x10 cousins. A 2x10 set up vertically would cut a few inches off the footprint, even more a 1x12.