1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

p bass replacements

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by saiman, Nov 12, 2006.

1. saiman

saiman

Nov 12, 2006
    hi i'm quite new to this replacement things. i have a mexican made fender P and i'm thinking of replacing those stock pickups. what do you guys recommend for the replacement, i would love a nice tone for the slap though. cause that's my main style.

i was considering dimarzio splitP or basslines SPB3. what else do you guys recommend. i need some help thanks

2. 62bass

62bass

Apr 3, 2005
    I have good success using the SPB3 in Mexican P basses. i've done several for students. Noticeable improvement in sound. I don't like the DiMarzio as much.

The P is not noted as the best slap bass though it does do it. Just different froma J sound. Your choice of strings will make a huge difference.

But the SPB3 is a very good start.

3. Nedmundo

Nedmundo Supporting Member

Jan 7, 2005
    Philadelphia
    Normally, P-basses are associated with mids, but many players want a mid-scooped sound for slap style. I personally think stock P-basses are fine for slap, but assuming you want a more modern sound, you're on the right track. Both Duncan's Quarter Pounder and DiMarzio's Split-P are more full range (less mids-heavy) and modern sounding than a conventional P-bass pickup, and thus in theory closer to a mid-scoop tone many like for slap. I've never tried the DiMarzio, but I really dig the Quarter Pounder for a hard-hitting P-bass tone.

4. I use the Dimarzio Will Power P, very nice, especially when wired up with the 4 conductor wiring to the switch.
    I slap a lot & it works for me.

5. X Wolf

X Wolf Guest

+1....I think the SPB3 does a great scooped sound which would be preferable for slapping.

George

6. saiman

saiman

Nov 12, 2006