1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Peak Pedal? Have you reached it?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by MGR, Feb 3, 2017.

Tags:
  1. MGR

MGR Banned

Jan 18, 2015
    Bronx, NY
    Hopefully this topic will not be misconstrued as a diss against pedals because it is most certainly not. However, I have been feeling recently like I've just simply reached peak pedal.

I've been collecting, buying and selling gear since 1993 or so and tons of stuff have passed thru my hands. For most of that time I was a drummer and recording engineer and I took the same approach I am taking now to bass effects.......buy a bunch, see what works and sell the rest off.

This time though, I don't know, maybe it's because I am in my mid-40's and so many other things in life have become so much more important recently, but I look at my pedal collection and just think to myself "How much of this do I really need?" Sometimes the answer is "all of it" and sometimes it's "none of it." But the most dominant thought is, "only a little bit of it." I think this usually happens when I try to put together a larger board and realize I'm spending more time noodling with sound than actually playing music.

I think I have reached "peak pedal." Nothing new is interesting me and I am totally digging having only one OD and a Flanger and that's it. I'm not quite at the point where I'm selling everything and keeping two pedals, but man, I just don't want anything new.

This was more of a stream of consciousness, but I would like to put out there the topic and see where some of you are/were/maybe will be at regarding this hobby.

fasto likes this.
  2. Mosfed

Mosfed

Apr 21, 2013
    Washington DC
    Partner - CCP Pedals
    Buy a couple of Moogerfoogers. They will instantly re-inspire you.