1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Pedals vs Multi-effects...

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Dweezilmeister, Jul 23, 2012.

1. Hi fellow bassplayers

Im a beginner and I still only have a basic amp, no effects.

I would like to experiment on my sound and I am wondering if I should only get a few pedals (I was thinking eq, comp and flanger for a start) or maybe a multi-effect (there are a few good used ME's or even GT's at decent prices)

I was always a minimalist, even when I played guitar...

Thanks for the feedback

2. EskimoBassist

EskimoBassist

Nov 2, 2007
    Leeds, UK
    I think a lot of people will echo this advice: buy a cheapish multi-effects unit first, work out which effects you use and which you don't and then buy the individual effects which correspond to those if you want at a later date.

Buuuut if you are the minimalist that you say you are, then you may end up just buying a tuner. And that is truly the most important pedal of all.

3. MoeTown1986

MoeTown1986 Supporting Member

Sep 14, 2010
    SoMD (Mechanicsville)
    I think digital multis work great for compression, flange, chorus, delay, ect. But when it comes to overdrive, fuzz, distortion, ect... Stick with separate analog pedals. Thats just me though.

4. MoeTown1986

MoeTown1986 Supporting Member

Sep 14, 2010
    SoMD (Mechanicsville)
    +1... all good points!

5. Thanks for the tips.

One thing I did not mention. My current amp is actually a really cheap marshall jb-15 which I used mostly with headphones.

So I was thinking that if I go with the multi-effect, I could get one with amp simulator, and save some space...

6. kesh

kesh

Jul 9, 2012
    Brighton, England
    If you want to experiment with sound I would spend the money on a really could amp/cab set up and different types of strings.