1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Performance help

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Jay445, Jan 10, 2012.

1. Jay445

Jay445

Jan 10, 2012
    First and formost I would like to say Hello as Im new to talkbass. Anyways I am a sophmore in high school and have been playing double bass for about 5 years now but lately it feels as if i havent been improving much. It only hit me after practicing day and night for an audition only to find out I didnt make it. Is there any reason at all why I am not improving as much as when I first started playing or sometimes performing as well as I could be?

2. Just because you didn't make it doesn't mean your not improving. Auditions are tough and 9 out of 10 times, it's not going to go the way you hoped.... No matter who you are. There is simply always someone better then you.

But when you practice, make sure you Do everything with a purpose. It is also REALLY helps to record yourself on a daily basis.
    But one of the most important things you can do it LISTEN to as much music as you possibly can. it'll do wonders for your musicality.
    Best of luck!
    ps, I'm only a junior so if anyone more experienced disagrees, feel free to correct me!

3. Jay445

Jay445

Jan 10, 2012
    I agree with you but I already listen to lots of music and I felt as if I wasnt improving long before the audition.

4. Do things with a purpose, that's the important part.

Record yourself, so you can listen and really hear if you could do something better.

Listen to lots of music, but don't just groove to it, really pick it apart to hear how the pros do things, and to improve your listening.

Play lots of music, so you get familiar with different styles and technical demands.